Where hath summer gone?

by

Sunday, 11 August 2013

Before talking about today’s hike, I thought it would be fun to post a picture Jacky took with her phone when we were in downtown Palo Alto the other evening.

IMG_20130802_182117

I don’t know exactly what I would do with one free shoe, but I suppose they are aiming at the market of three-footed people that like to ski.

On Saturday, I volunteered at the open space district’s Deer Hollow Farm. Helped build some benches for the 4-year olds to sit on during the ranger talks.

Sunday, I left the car at Foothills park, hiked up the hill to Los Trancos open space preserve, then to Montebello, Alpine road, Russian ridge, Skyline ridge and back through Montebello. Almost 19 miles, almost 4000 vertical feet. Not quite a killer hike, but then, it has been several weeks since I did a really serious hike.

P1100457

Only the middle of August, but it’s definitely getting late in summer. Admittedly, poison oak starts turning red very early, but there’s at least as much red as green now. Interesting how it changes. Above, for example, we see one leaf that has been thrown under the bus while its erstwhile buddies busy themselves rearranging the deck chairs.

Some leaves fade uniformly, some go blotchy red and green.

P1100558

It’s also quite common to see the skeleton of the leaf remaining green, while the web turns red. I thought I had seen one with a red skeleton and green web, but that makes no sense, so I must have imagined it.

P1100478

I saw two tarantula wasps. One of these days, I’ll see a tarantula. Then we’ll know it’s fall, for sure.

P1100504

P1100488

Some pretty late-summer vegetation, seeds and fluff.

P1100485

P1100513

P1100495

P1100491

P1100506

The view toward the coast from the top of Borel hill, with Mindego hill to the right of the picture. It is not unusual to see fog lying over the ocean, but the brown fog on the left half of the picture suggests there is a wildfire down there somewhere in the Pescadero-Butano area.

The view 180 degrees away, over the bay, was similar. It’s not unusual to see bad air pushed by the prevailing winds into the south end of the valley over San Jose, but San Jose’s air looked pretty good today, brown air further north.

P1100522

I stopped at Alpine pond to soak up calories and refill the water bottle. Nice flowers!

P1100519

P1100524

P1100535

P1100544

Back across Skyline, in Montebello OSP, I saw this butterfly limping — I can think of no other description — across the trail. It was not obviously damaged or injured. When I get it up on the big screen, I see it’s wet. I think it must have just emerged from its cocoon, and was hoping to survive Dave’s boots until its wings stiffened up and it could learn to fly.

P1100546

The stream was so dry that it only drip-drip-dripped, enough to keep the surface of this little pond constantly agitated. The water striders take it all in stride.

P1100552

A dead oak lending majesty to a marshy pond at the top of Canyon trail, near Page Mill road.

I like summer, but I certainly had no complaints about today.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

