Moths and un-moths

by

A couple days ago, I mentioned that it’s moth season. These are the moths that do a pretty good job of imitating dead leaves.

P1170811

The pupae look like this:

P1170804

And they’re everywhere. Today, I walked over to Stanford and around the dish loop. I stopped at a particularly dense area of pupae to see if I might observe a moth in the process of emerging.

P1170798

No, but I think this may be a larva in the process of pupating, soon to resemble its two neighbors. Either that, or it’s dead, dead, dead!

P1170803

As always, however, careful inspection reveals unexpected points of interest. I don’t know why this little guy is hanging around, but I bet it’s not accidental.

This one is surely an evolutionary mimic of the pupae.

P1170812

And getting right down to the bottom line, here’s one having lunch.

P1170815

From the dish, I walked back through Palo Alto and stopped at the Gamble garden to see what interesting things might be on display.

P1170846

A couple days ago, I mentioned seeing more of various small animals over the years, more than in previous years, harvestmen for example. I have no reason to believe that there are more harvestmen than there used to be, but I see a fair number of them now. I believe this is because I have learned to see them.

P1170821

Fun.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

