Small animals without killer hikes

by

Sunday, 12 May 2013

Yesterday, I needed to cover a certain distance, and although I noticed a lot of small animals, I didn’t really seek out the ones that weren’t obvious. It was also difficult to photograph them because of the wind.

Today, I went to Arastradero open space at 7 AM, resolved to go infinitely slowly and watch for small animals. especially near the water. If I get in a mile or two of hiking, that’s fine, but that’s not the point.

P1170380

Today’s supply of small animals started straightaway, down the crack in the bench where I paused to lace up my shoes.

P1170381

And it only got better. A 7-legged harvestman was perched atop the fence, just waiting the chance to be immortalized by the photographer.

P1170383

I really like these little guys, not least because they are everywhere but largely unknown.

P1170465

The fat abdomen suggests a female crane fly.

P1170470

What a beautiful face!

P1160338

With faces like that, it’s probably not surprising that they mate facing opposite directions. Notice the slender waist of the male.

P1160343

These last two pictures from a pair I found at home.

P1170408

Everyone out looking for a little sex.

P1170421

Or a little food. This is one well-fed spider! Look at that hollowed-out aphid!

P1170428

It’s also an ordinary day, on which one of the chores is to manage the livestock.

P1170411

And if you happen to be delicious, to avoid being too visible.

P1170434

P1170490

P1170525

The early birds get the dew.

P1170424

P1170444

And the late sleepers ought to be embarrassed! Who ever heard of a bee sleeping, and upside down at that!

P1170505

Whazzat?

P1170507

P1170510

P1170516

As the morning warmed up, the small animals took shelter from the heat. By 10, I was ready to call it a day.

P1170439

Mid-afternoon, I tried a run. I have had sore muscles for several weeks, and although I can hike and ride, the pain is exacerbated by running. But with effectively zero exercise the two previous weekends, I thought I’d give it a try.

About 4 miles to the nearby REI, running, feeling good, where I bought a new pair of hiking boots. The old ones are good friends, but they are coming apart at the seams.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

