Achilles surgery III, Thursday

by

The first day I tried the bike (Tuesday), I put in five minutes, enough to give it a try and see whether it was going to work out. Some pain, but not too bad. The ankle swelled, and there is probably some fresh bleeding under the skin. Ice makes a difference.

Yesterday, I put in ten minutes on the bike. I want to do as much as I can, but not more. I’m also getting more comfortable with the crutches, willing to go up and down steps and stairs now. My shoulders are not yet strong enough for any great distance, but certainly better than the first day or two (it also helps that I can offload a small amount of weight onto the booted foot).

Today, fifteen minutes on the bike, spinning as fast as I can, against not much resistance. About 80 rpm is the max I can sustain with my booted foot just sitting atop the pedal. If I could clip in, it would be higher than that. And I would work harder and flex the ankle and damage myself… oh well.

Then ice while I lunched on a peanut butter, onion and cheese sandwich.

And it’s a good opportunity for study of some technical topics that I have had on my list for a while, but never found time to learn about. All in all, I’m managing okay, but it will indeed be good to be able to get out and start doing real things again.

Later: I walked around the block. All the way around. First time, quite an achievement. How embarrassing, that walking around the block would represent a milestone!

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

